I believe during Chinese New year many of us had many goodies,
including Chewy sweets and Mashmellows.
But do you all know that Chewy sweets and Mashmellows contains
gelatin?
Gelatin (from French gélatine) is a
translucent, colorless, brittle, nearly tasteless solid
substance, extracted from the collagen inside animals' skin
and bones. (extracted from wikipedia.)
For those that take beef products, this won't be an issue to you
all. However, the main topic starts here, for me, i personally
don't take beef due to religion purpose (I'm a buddhist) . Not
saying about taking daily products such as milk, but beef, the
meat ,bones etc, i don't take them.
Many of us normally will just buy products without actually read
the ingredients.
To my surprise, Chewy sweets and Mashmellows actually
contain Beef Gelatin (if you don't believe, next time you can read
the ingredients when you visit the supermarket next time).
And sad to say, i had consumed much of them before, but had stop
consuming after knowing the substances used to produce them.
And worse still, when i went to temple, many unknown believers,
actually use these chewy sweets as offerings.
I mean, shouldn't the manufacturer state "contain Gelatin from
animals" on some place that is more visible to take care of
consumer such as vegeterians, Our Indian friends, buddhist,
etc for those who don't take beef.
Just posting my point of view, and alerting those who don't take
beef. 