If you click on the URL, it will download and install an
Android App
call PhotoViewer.apk. This malware will go through your address
book and send the SMS to all your contacts. To remove the malware,
use F-Secure Mobile Security (30-day free trial) from the Google
Play store. It will detect and prompt you to remove the Photo
Viewer malware.
If I’m not mistaken, iPhone
users are safe from this malware. For Android users, if you set
your security settings to only allow apps from trusted sources, you
are safe too.
Do not click on any URL if you
are not sure where it leads to. If your friend suddenly send you a
URL out of the blue, ask him/her what’s the URL first before
clicking. Always check before clicking. You never know when your
friend might be infected with a malware.