Hi folks. I had a discussion with a friend today regarding
whether or not to consider bird's nest ( 燕窝 ) a vegetarian
food.
For those who are not familiar with this food that many Chinese
consider a delicacy and health tonic, I shall simply explain that
it is the solidified saliva of swallows, which is formed when they
build nests.
We disagreed
that it is vegetarian for the following reasons:
1. It comes from the saliva of swallows that eat worms and
insects. My friend's opinion is that the saliva regurgitated
is far from "pure" and scarcely vegetarian for this
reason.
2. I feel that it is cruel to snatch from the birds what
was meant to be their nest. By "harvesting" bird's nest, we
are effectively robbing them of their home and the place wherein
they were meant to lay eggs and procreate.
3. When the swallows are depleted of their saliva, they
start to spit out even their blood to build nests. They are
in effect forced to spit blood because all their previous nests
were taken away by humans, and by then they already have very
little saliva left. If even this nest is taken away, death is
certain for them after they make one final attempt to reconstruct a
place for nesting. Yet, many consider this variety of bloody bird's
nest 血燕 the most prized.
Then, my friend actually rang up some local vegetarian
restaurants to seek their opinion (yes, yes... very serious
discussion
) and was in no uncertain terms told that bird's nest
cannot be considered a vegetarian food.
What do you think? Any further thoughts/opinions on
this?
Can bird's nest be made as an offering to monks who have taken
the precept to maintain a vegetarian diet?