If you reformatted your computer which is synced with your iPod,
the alert about whether you want to pair with the computer should
appear, when you plug the iPod into the newly formatted computer
for the first time.
To be on the safe side, plug your iPod into ANOTHER computer,
select no when the alert to sync pops up, go to iPod options and
change the setting to "Manually manage my songs and playlists"