Lol nope not true.
Just go through a complete usage cycle will ensure ur data never be
recovered.
What I meant:
Deleting an item from Hdd will only make it invisible to you, but
not gone from your drive. It will only be gone totally if the drive
needs the vacancy for new data.
E.g. Your Hdd is 80GB and you are using exactly 20GB now. You have
a 1GB data you wanna get rid of. You delete it. Your C drive reads
61GB free, but in fact it is only 60GB free, as the 1GB deleted
data is still inside.
So now you get another 60GB of data to your hdd, it will tell you
it still has 1GB free. But in actual fact it is already full, with
a 1GB on standby to be removed. Now you try to get another 512MB
into your hdd, immediately the 1GB of data you deleted previously
will now be removed from your drive, making room for the new 512
MB.
Some advance software could still recover data even after 1 usage
cycle is fulfilled. Thus you could take a few hours to run through
a few cycles, or simply bring your hdd to a computer store for
cleaning service, at a cost of around $20