(continued)
Meat
Pigs and their byproducts (lard, gelatin, etc) are explicitly
prohibited in the Quran. The same goes for carrion. Blood also
can't be consumed (which is why the animals must be slaughtered in
the manner I previously mentioned). The following verse says it
all:
'He hath only forbidden you dead meat, and blood, and the flesh of
swine, and that on which any other name hath been invoked besides
that of Allah. But if one is forced by necessity, without wilful
disobedience, nor transgressing due limits,- then is he guiltless.
For Allah is Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.'
-Surah Al Baqarah (The Cow), Verse 2:173
Seafood
There's a bit of dispute on this matter. Some scholars have claimed
that shellfish (including prawns, crabs, etc) are not permitted, or
at least discouraged. Most scholars, though, agree that all seafood
is permitted, as per the following verse:
To hunt and to eat the food of the sea is made lawful for you, a
provision for you and the seafarers
-Surah Al-Maidah (The Table) Verse 5:96
Since everyone else around me has no qualms eating crabs and
prawns, I'm going to go along with the majority viewpoint.
Vegetables
Absolutely no restrictions here. As you guys can see, in the
absence of any Halal-certified alternatives, I can go seafood or
vegetarian.
Alcohol
No go here. Anything which can intoxicate the mind is prohibited,
and that includes alcohol and illicit drugs. As the following verse
goes:
'O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, (dedication of)
stones, and (divination by) arrows, are an abomination,- of Satan's
handwork: eschew such (abomination), that ye may prosper.'
- Surah Al-Ma'ida (The Table) 5:90
Of course, this does complicate things somewhat, considering that
are several substances and food essences which do contain alcohol.
It's not just about abstaining from drinking alcohol - it's also
about abstaining from consuming it in any way. That's part of the
reason why I stay away from food stalls which proudly label 'no
pork, no lard' but without a valid halal certificate from MUIS. For
all I know they could be using alcohol in the marinate for the meat
(which was what I discovered with a certain restaurant in town
several years ago). In addition, absence of pork and its byproducts
still doesn't account for the requirement that all meat must be
slaughtered the Islamic way.
Kosher food
Ok.. this is where things start to get really interesting. Some
explanation is needed here. You see, Jews have a certain set of
dietary laws themselves, and food which is considered fit for
consumption is known as 'kosher'. In many ways, it's similar to
Halal, but in many other ways it's even stricter. For example, Jews
are forbidden from consuming pork and its byproducts as well.
However, they are also not allowed to eat meat and dairy products
in the same meal, which strikes out food such as cheeseburgers and
tandoori chicken, which are considered Halal so long as the proper
slaughtering procedures are followed.
Now, the Quran states that the food of the 'Peoples of the Book'
(Jews and Christians) are lawful, as the following verse
states:
".... The food of the Peoples of the Book is lawful unto you and
yours is lawful unto them...."
- Surah Al-Mai'dah (The Table) Verse 5:6
Christians don't have a codified set of dietary laws, but Jews do.
While some take this to mean that kosher food is alright, most
believe that it can be consumed only in the case of no halal
alternatives. After all, alcohol is considered kosher, but not
halal. I guess I'm going to go along with the advice of most Muslim
groups: go for kosher only in the absence of halal
alternatives.
(to be continued)